cricket world



Posted by anccricket on March 3, 2010 at 5:22 AM Comments comments (3)

Mar 12: Deccan Chargers (DC) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Navi Mumbai, 8 pm.

Mar 13: Mumbai Indians (MI) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR), Mumbai, 3 pm; Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) vs Delhi Daredevils (DD), Mohali, 8 pm.

Mar 14: KKR vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kolkata, 4 pm; Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs DC, Chennai, 8 pm.

Mar 15: RR vs DD, Ahmedabad, 8 pm

Mar 16: RCB vs KXIP, Bangalore, 4 pm; KKR vs CSK, Kolkata, 8 pm

Mar 17: DD vs MI, Delhi, 8 pm

Mar 18: RCB vs RR, Bangalore, 8 pm

Mar 19: DD vs CSK, Delhi, 4pm; DC vs KXIP, Cuttack, 8 pm

Mar 20: RR vs KKR, Ahmedabad, 4 pm; MI vs RCB, Mumbai, 8 pm

Mar 21: DC vs DD, Cuttack, 4 pm; CSK vs KXIP, Chennai, 8 pm

Mar 22: MI vs KKR, Mumbai, 8 pm

Mar 23: RCB vs CSK, Bangalore, 8 pm

Mar 24: KXIP vs RR, Mohali, 8 pm

Mar 25: MI vs CSK, Mumbai, 8 pm

Mar 26: RR vs DC, Ahmedabad, 8 pm

Mar 27: KXIP vs KKR, Mohali, 4 pm; RCB vs DD, Bangalore, 8 pm

Mar 28: RR vs CSK, Ahmedabad, 4 pm; DC vs MI, Navi Mumbai, 8 pm

Mar 29: DD vs KKR, Delhi, 8 pm

Mar 30: MI vs KXIP, Mumbai, 8 pm

Mar 31: CSK vs RCB, Chennai, 4 pm; DD vs RR, Delhi, 8 pm

Apr 1: KKR vs DC, Kolkata, 8 pm

Apr 2: KXIP vs RCB, Mohali, 8 pm

Apr 3: CSK vs RR, Chennai, 4 pm; MI vs DC, Mumbai, 8 pm.

Apr 4: KKR vs KXIP, Kolkata, 4 pm; DD vs RCB, Delhi, 8 pm

Apr 5: DC vs RR, Nagpur, 8 pm

Apr 6: CSK vs MI, Chennai, 8 pm

Apr 7: RR vs KXIP, Jaipur, 4 pm; KKR vs DD, Kolkata, 8 pm

Apr 8: RCB vs DC, Bangalore, 8 pm

Apr 9: KXIP vs MI, Mohali, 8 pm

Apr 10: DC vs CSK, Nagpur, 4 pm; RCB vs KKR, Bangalore, 8 pm

Apr 11: DD vs KXIP, Delhi, 4 pm; RR vs MI, Jaipur, 8 pm

Apr 12: DC vs RCB, Nagpur, 8 pm

Apr 13: MI vs DD, Mumbai, 4 pm; CSK vs KKR, Chennai, 8 pm

Apr 14: RR vs RCB, Jaipur, 8 pm

Apr 15: CSK vs DD, Chennai, 8 pm

Apr 16: KXIP vs DC, Dharamsala, 8 pm

Apr 17: RCB vs MI, Bangalore, 4 pm; KKR vs RR, Kolkata, 8 pm

Apr 18: KXIP vs CSK, Dharamsala, 4 pm; DD vs DC, Delhi, 8 pm

Apr 19: KKR vs MI, Kolkata, 8 pm

Apr 21: Semi-final 1, Bangalore, 8 pm

Apr 22: Semi-final 2, Bangalore, 8 pm

Apr 24: 3rd Place match, Navi Mumbai, 8 pm

Apr 25: Final, Navi Mumbai, 8 pm.


Posted by anccricket on May 25, 2009 at 8:10 AM Comments comments (0)

Chasing a modest 144 for win, Bangalore rode on cameos from Roelof van der Merwe (32) and Ross Taylor (27) to come near the mark but eventually halted at 137 for nine in the final match.

Put into bat, the Chargers had earlier found their nemesis in Anil Kumble (4/16) and it took Herschelle Gibbs' unbeaten 48-ball 53 and Andrew Symonds' brisk 33 to reach 143 for six.

Despite the defeat, Kumble's was a towering presence today. The Bangalore captain won the toss, made the right decisions, struck with the ball whenever the tie threatened to slip through fingers but still found himself at the wrong end of the contest.

For Bangalore, the target was not huge but they lost Jacques Kallis (16) and the in-form Manish Pandey (4) early to find themselves in a spot of bother.

Coming at number three, van der Merwe had a busy time in the middle but even his lusty hits were not enough.

He copped some sledges from Andrew Symonds and ran some crazy runs before hitting Ryan Harris for two sixes in the same over. Symonds too was hit out of the park before Pragyan Ojha cut short the South African's eventful 21-ball stay.

Symonds removed Taylor and Virat Kohli (7) with successive deliveries to tilt the match and Bangalore lost wickets in heaps towards the end which proved decisive in the end. Earlier, it was Kumble's four-wicket haul that restricted Deccan Chargers to a sub-150 score.

Kumble was in the thick of things right from the start and was quick to win the individual battle against his opposite number Gilchrist.

Kumble called it correct at toss, inserted the Chargers, opened the attack and his third delivery castled the scoreless Gilchrist to send groans across the Hyderabad dug-out.

Having removed Gilchrist, Kumble then paved way for R Vinay Kumar and the right-arm pacer responded by removing T Suman (10) in his first over.

Symonds too would have been back in the hut soon with just five runs against his name but Rahul Dravid, statistically the safest pair of hands in international cricket, dropped a sitter off Vinay Kumar at slip.

Symonds decided he would made Bangalore pay the price for the lapse. So Vinay Kumar was dispatched across the ropes, Jacques Kallis copped back-to-back boundaries and Roelof van der Merwe was hit out of the park in his first over. But just when things threatened to go out of control, Bangalore once again found their messiah in their skipper as Kumble returned to remove Symonds in the ninth over to cut short his 21-ball stay in the middle.

Gibbs and Rohit Sharma (24) guided the side past the 100-mark but boundaries had dried up by then.

Kumble went on to claim Rohit and Venugopal Rao (0) in his last over and the Chargers never got the late charge they needed so badly.

Gibbs' was a sedate, rather than swashbuckling, knock and the tremendous discipline showed by the Bangalore bowlers meant there was just no freebies for the batsmen.