cricket world



Posted by anccricket on October 21, 2011 at 1:15 AM

T20 World Cup 2012 will begin on Tuesday, September 18, 2012 in Sri Lanka as per cricket schedule announced. ICC World Twenty20 2012 is an international tournament to be organized by Sri Lanka. T20 World Cup 2012 will consist of 27 Twenty20 matches to be hosted by Sri Lanka in Sep-Oct 2012. The T20 World Cup 2012 tournament is a part of Future Tour Programs prepared by International Cricket Council (ICC). Sri Lanka will host this tournament, beginning on September 18, 2012. In T20 World Cup 2012 bilateral series, first T20 match would be between Sri Lanka - Zimbabwe on Sep 18, 2012 at 19:30 local time to be played at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota.

Twenty20 Cricket has never failed to enthrall and captivate the minds of cricketing viewers and spectators round the globe. Since its early days, T20 Cricket came under constant criticism. But with the unprecedented success of the inaugural edition of the International Twenty20 World Cup, all questions over the longevity of the shortest format of Cricket was put to rest once and for all. To globalize T20 Cricket throughout the globe, the International Cricket Council decided to host T20 World Cups every 2 years. The year 2012 will see the next edition of the World T20, to be played in the Asian country of Sri Lanka.


The Twenty20 World Cup 2012 is the 4th edition of the T20 World Cup. This international T20 cricketing event will be hosted by the island country of Sri Lanka. In fact, this is the first time that this grand tournament will be hosted by an Asian country. Although the official dates have not been announced by the ICC, the championship will start from early September 2012 and continue up to the last week of the same month. Just like all other cricket tournaments and series, the ICC World T20 Championship is a part of the innovative Future Tour Programs (FTP).


The ICC will release the official cricket fixture of the World T20 to the public and the media very soon, as assured by the officials at ICC. This year, the number of qualifying teams has been raised from 12 to 16. This implies, the minnows and the associate countries stand a chance to compete against the big teams and gain experience. For that, a qualifying round will be held in the first quarter of 2012. The first game of the ICC T20 World Championship 2012 will be underway from Monday, September 12, 2012.

The matches will be held in Galle, Kandy and Colombo. The finals, though, will be held at the legendary R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. It is one of the magnificent cricketing venues of the modern age. In the distant past, it has been witness to great cricketing spectacles, including quarter finals and semi finals of Cricket World Cup 2011 and 1996. Also, it would be interesting to see whether an Asian country will host the cup, or will it be a new name to lift up the coveted T20 World Championship crown. It’s just a matter of time, before the winner is exposed to the cricketing fraternity.


Group A – England, India, Qualifier 2

Group B – Australia, West Indies, Qualifier 1

Group C – Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe

Group D – Pakistan, New Zealand, Bangladesh


Super Eight (S8) Groups

Group 1 – A1, B2, C1, D2

Group 2 – A2, B1, C2, D1



18-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Group C : Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, 1st T20 Hambantota

19-Sep-2012 15:30 10:00 Group B : Australia vs TBC, 2nd T20 Colombo

19-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Group A : India vs TBC, 3rd T20 Colombo

20-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Group C : South Africa vs Zimbabwe, 4th T20 Hambantota

21-Sep-2012 15:30 10:00 Group D : New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 5th T20 Kandy

21-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Group A : England vs TBC, 6th T20 Colombo

22-Sep-2012 15:30 10:00 Group C : Sri Lanka vs South Africa, 7th T20 Hambantota

22-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Group B : Australia vs West Indies, 8th T20 Colombo

23-Sep-2012 15:30 10:00 Group D : New Zealand vs Pakistan, 9th T20 Kandy

23-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Group A : England vs India, 10th T20 Colombo

24-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Group B : West Indies vs TBC, 11th T20 Colombo

25-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Group D : Bangladesh vs Pakistan, 12th T20 Kandy

27-Sep-2012 15:30 10:00 Super Eights, Group 1 : TBC vs TBC, 13th T20 Kandy

27-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Super Eights, Group 1 : TBC vs TBC, 14th T20 Kandy

28-Sep-2012 15:30 10:00 Super Eights, Group 2 : TBC vs TBC, 15th T20 Colombo

28-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Super Eights, Group 2 : TBC vs TBC, 16th T20 Colombo

29-Sep-2012 15:30 10:00 Super Eights, Group 1 : TBC vs TBC, 17th T20 Kandy

29-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Super Eights, Group 1 : TBC vs TBC, 18th T20 Kandy

30-Sep-2012 15:30 10:00 Super Eights, Group 2 : TBC vs TBC, 19th T20 Colombo

30-Sep-2012 19:30 14:00 Super Eights, Group 2 : TBC vs TBC, 20th T20 Colombo

1-Oct-2012 15:30 10:00 Super Eights, Group 1 : TBC vs TBC, 21st T20 Kandy

1-Oct-2012 19:30 14:00 Super Eights, Group 1 : TBC vs TBC, 22nd T20 Kandy

2-Oct-2012 15:30 10:00 Super Eights, Group 2 : TBC vs TBC, 23rd T20 Colombo

2-Oct-2012 19:30 14:00 Super Eights, Group 2 : TBC vs TBC, 24th T20 Colombo

4-Oct-2012 19:00 13:30 TBC vs TBC, 1st Semi Final T20 Colombo

5-Oct-2012 19:00 13:30 TBC vs TBC, 2nd Semi Final T20 Colombo

7-Oct-2012 19:00 13:30 TBC vs TBC, Final T20 Colombo


Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register


Become A Free Member




anccricket facebook fan page

anccricket logo

anccricket's follower count


Share on Facebook

Share on Facebook


  • "This site offers you complete knowledge about cricket It offers you a variety of news and also gives you a complete idea about statistics and rankings.It also provides you with..."

Subscribe To Our Site

Follow anccricket